XVI Open composers competition named after Andrey Petrov
VIII Composers competition
named after Andrey Petrov
Nominations «Symphonic music»

In 2014, 120 symphonic works from 40 cities and towns of Russia, as well as seven countries of near and far abroad: Belarus, Italy, Canada, Ukraine, Sweden, Estonia, Japan, were sent to the competition. As a result of a two-stage anonymous listening, the jury selected 6 works that were performed in the first and second sections of the final concert of the competition.

The third, final round of the competition took place in the Great Hall of the St. Petersburg Academic Philharmonic named after D.D. Shostakovich on September 19, 2014 in the form of a public concert-listening to selected works. The concert was attended by: The Philharmonic Academic Symphony Orchestra (artistic director and chief conductor - People's Artist of the USSR Alexander Dmitriev), conductor - Honored Artist of Russia Arkady STEINLUHT. Soloists - Alexey LUDEVIG (viola), Rolf-Eric NISTROM (saxophone, Norway).

The winners of the VIII Composers competition
named after Andrey Petrov:

I Prize
Igor DRUKH, «Betelgeuse»,
 phantasmagoria for a symphony orchestra (St. Petersburg)

II Prize
Katharina Leyman, «King of Clouds» (Sweden)

III Prize
Concerto for Saxophone and Sinfonietta (Canada)

Audience Award
Elmir NIZAMOV, «Sky Movement» (Kazan) 

Jury members:

Frangiz ALIZADE - chairman of the jury,
People's Artist of Azerbaijan, professor
Leonid DESYATNIKOV - composer,
 Honored Artist of the Russian Federation 
Alexander KNAIFEL - composer,
Honored Artist of the Russian Federation 
Valery PLATONOV - conductor,
Honored Artist of the Russian Federation 
Anatoly KOROLEV - composer 
Alexander POPOV - composer 
Alexander RADVILOVICH - composer 
Vladimir TARNOPOLSKY – composer 

Andrey Petrov Foundation 
Art-Assemblies company 

Supported by: 
Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation 
St. Petersburg Committee for Culture 

Alina Podzorova.
«Free fall»
Arthur Wabel.
Concert for viola and symphony orchestra. Soloist - Alexei LUDEVIG (viola)
Igor Drukh.
«Betelgeuse», a phantasmagoria for a symphony orchestra
Katarina Leyman.
«King of clouds»
Farangis Nurulla-Khoja.«Ravishi Nur», concert for saxophone and symphony orchestra. Soloist - Rolf-Eric NUSTREM (saxophone)
Elmir Nizamov.
«Sky movement»