XIV Open composers competition named after Andrey Petrov

About competition

The idea of the competition was born in the Union of Composers of St. Petersburg in 2006-2007 with the goal to preserve the memory of its long-standing chairman, an outstanding figure in Russian music world – composer Andrey Petrov, as well as to encourage composers to create new works.

The main goals of the Competition are to support serious art and the opening of new composer names. The federal significance of the Competition is, first of all, the strengthening of the positive image of St. Petersburg as the cultural capital of Russia. Of course, this also includes the preservation and development of Russian national culture, as well as its inherent cultural traditions, historical, and spiritual moral values. The competition helps in solving not only such important tasks as identifying and supporting talented professional composers from the many regions of Russia and near and far abroad countries, but also introducing the maximum number of music lovers and discoverers of this type of creativity in musical art.

In the first two years, the competition, open to all authors regardless of age and place of residence, was successfully held simultaneously in two categories - «Symphonic music» and «Song and pop romance», causing great interest from both sides - potential participants and listeners. Since 2009, the organizers of the competition have decided to hold it in turn in one of the two above-mentioned nominations. Since 2020 the official name of the Competition «Russian composers competition named after Andrey Petrov» has been replaced by «Open Composers Competition named after Andrey Petrov».

Competition organizing company - The Foundation for the Preservation and Development of the Creative Heritage of the composer Andrey Petrov.

Famous composers and performers are invited to the Jury membership. The jury evaluates the entries on a 10-point system. The number of compositions allowed to participate in the 2nd round is determined by the Jury members. The decisions of the Jury members are final and not subject to review.

The competition is held in three rounds. The final round of the competition is accompanied by a symphony orchestra, with the participation of famous soloists at prestigious venues in St. Petersburg.

Finalists of the competition receive: 
• Monetary prizes 
• Video and audio recording from the final of the competition 
• Memorable gifts from the Andrei Petrov Foundation and partners of the competition 

An entry fee for participation in the Competition is not provided. 

More information about the conditions
of the competition: 
Competition Regulation 2020

Greetings to the competition
Yuri TEMIRKANOV
Artistic director of the St. Petersburg Academic Philharmonic named
after D. D. Shostakovich

I have been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Andrey Petrov Foundation since its creation. I can say with confidence that for many years the Foundation has been engaged not only in promoting the music of Andrey Petrov himself, creating an archive, working on the publication of a composer’s collected works, which is undoubtedly very important, but also organizing a composers competition that is very significant for Russian cultural life. As a member of the jury several years ago, I had the opportunity not only to realize how many authors send their compositions to the competition, but also a wide range of cities and countries of participants. 

Giya KANCHELI
Composer
(1935-2019)

In our difficult time, I consider the establishment of a large-scale competition of composers to be an exceptional phenomenon. No less significant phenomenon is that the competition is associated with the name of Andrey Petrov - a personality which is in all his manifestations a unique one. I am happy that my friend who was a sower of good in his life, continues to bring joy to many participants in the contest. A deep gratitude to all who have established and support the viability of this significant event.

Eldar RYAZANOV
Filmmaker
(1927 - 2015)

In my life I was lucky for about 40 years to be friends and creative partner with an interesting, intelligent, kind person and a very talented composer Andrey Petrov. He was a big master in all genres - opera, ballet, symphonic music. But, of course, to most listeners first of all he is familiar as an outstanding film composer. Petrov’s music in the film is an integral and irreplaceable part as the play of Innokenty Smoktunovsky in the movie «Watch out for the car», of Alice Freyndlich in movie «The Office Romance», Leah Akhedzhakova in the movie «Garage», etc. Many melodies have become the hallmarks of not only for favorite films lovers, but also for the composer himself. It was very light and very creative time together with Andrey Petrov. Together we made 14 films.

Gennady GLADKOV
Composer

The once-blooming garden of Russian musical culture has been blowing a bit down. Therefore, any support and stimulation of creativity in the field of culture and art is like blessed rain.  I consider the Open competition of composers named after Andrey Petrov a matter of vital necessity, a matter of great national importance. Therefore, I express my gratitude to the organizing committee of the contest. Continue this way - it is necessary, it is joyful.  


Sergey SKRIPKA
Conductor

All my creative life was connected with Andrey Petrov, starting with our first work on Mosfilm. The music of this outstanding composer will forever remain a precious example of true art, those pharos that has been shining for all of us for many years. Someone, like me, grew up with the melodies of Andrey Petrov. Someone has recognized them only now. But the main thing is that his memory does not fade and his music does not age. And it’s fortunate that there is an opportunity for composers to take part in a competition where they appreciate, first of all, good taste, sincere service to art and the continuation of the wonderful traditions laid down by Andrey Petrov.

Alexander ZATSEPIN
Composer

Competitions for composers are not frequent, but very important. Sometimes authors simply have nowhere to go with their composition, there is no way to hear their song in the concert hall performed by professional soloists and musicians. The contest, named after the wonderful composer Andrey Petrov, gives the participants this chance, inspiring them to create new compositions! I have long heard about this professional competition, about a worthy and impartial jury, about the widest geography of participants, but for the first time I ended up in the jury, which I was very happy about! 

Alexander RASKATOV
Composer

Dear friends, dear jury members, colleagues, young composers!

Now, more than ever, music will play a special role - the role of appeal to a person. Composers are simply called upon to return to music the high role that has always been inherent in it. I am not a “populist” at all, I am always for something new, with a condition that the purpose of this new is to touch the listener and reach out to him.

Doctor vocation is to heal human ailments;
Music - heals the soul, and we will remember it! 
I wish you success, dear young colleagues! 

Alexander KNAIFEL
Composer

The star of Andrey Petrov
shines with Petersburg - 
and it is wonderous
that in the young - 
the thaumaturgic whiteness
of the nights 
is ever aflame with new life. 

JURY MEMBERS 2009-2019
Gia
KANCHELI
composer
Alexander
ZATSEPIN
composer
Gennady
GLADKOV
composer
Eugene
DOGA
composer
Alexey
RYBNIKOV
composer
Tamara
GVERDZITELI
singer, actress, composer
Frangiz
ALIZADE
сomposer (Azerbaijan)
Sergey
SKRIPKA
сonductor
Miroslav
SKORIK
сomposer
Vadim
BIBERGAN
сomposer
Dmitry
YANOV-YANOVSKY
сomposer (Uzbekistan)
Leonid
DESYATNIKOV
сomposer
Sergey
BANEVICH
сomposer
Marina
LANDA
сomposer
Alexander
KNAIFEL
сomposer
Maxim
LEONIDOV
сomposer, singer, actor
Vladimir
TARNOPOLSKY
composer, professor at the Moscow Conservatory
Victor
RAKOV
actor
Andrey
SIGLE
composer, producer
Andrey
ALEKSEEV
сonductor
Alexander
RADVILOVICH
composer, professor of the St. Petersburg Conservatory
Arkady
STEINLUHT
сonductor
Stanislav
VAZHOV
composer, laureate of the Golden Mask National Theater Award
Oleg
GRABKO
music producer
Konstantin
UCHITEL
Doctor of Arts, Professor of Russian State Institute of Performing Arts
Fedor
LEDNYOV
сonductor
Nastasya
KHRUSHCHEVA
composer, Ph.D. in History of Arts
Tatiana
KALININA
poet
Anatoly
KOROLEV
composer, Professor of the St. Petersburg Conservatory
Alexander
POPOV
composer
Valery
PLATONOV
сonductor, Laureate of the Golden Mask National Theater Award
Pavel
KARMANOV
composer
Igor
EGIKOV
composer
Manana
GOGITIDZE
singer, actress, twice winner of the Golden Mask National Theater Award
Alexander
BOGACHEV
pianist, composer
Igor
DRUH
composer
Andrey
LEDENEV
composer

XIV Открытый конкурс композиторов имени А. П. Петрова

О конкурсе

Идея конкурса зародилась в Союзе композиторов Санкт-Петербурга в 2006–2007 годах с целью увековечения памяти его многолетнего председателя, выдающегося деятеля российской музыки Андрея Павловича Петрова, а также для стимулирования композиторов к созданию новых произведений.

Основными целями Конкурса являются поддержка серьёзного искусства и открытие новых композиторских имён. Конкурс помогает в решении не только таких важных задач, как выявление и поддержка талантливых профессиональных композиторов из самых разных регионов России и стран ближнего и дальнего зарубежья, но и приобщение к музыкальному искусству максимального количества любителей музыки и первооткрывателей этого вида творчества.

Первые два года конкурс, открытый для всех авторов независимо от возраста и места проживания, успешно проходил одновременно в двух номинациях — «Симфоническая музыка» и «Песня и эстрадный романс», вызывая большой интерес как у потенциальных участников, так и у слушателей. Начиная с 2009 года организаторы конкурса приняли решение о поочередном проведении его в одной из двух вышеупомянутых номинаций, а с 2020 года название Конкурса «Всероссийский конкурс композиторов им. А.П. Петрова» заменено на «Открытый конкурс композиторов им. А.П. Петрова». 

Организатор Конкурса - Фонд сохранения и развития творческого наследия композитора А.П. Петрова.

В жюри приглашаются известные композиторы и исполнители. Жюри оценивает конкурсные работы по 10-бальной системе. Количество сочинений, допущенных к участию во 2-м туре, определяет отборочная комиссия из числа членов жюри. Решения отборочной комиссии и жюри окончательные и пересмотру не подлежат.  

Конкурс проходит в три тура. Финал конкурса проходит в сопровождении симфонического оркестра, с участием известных солистов на престижных площадках Санкт-Петербурга.  

Финалисты конкурса получают: 
• Денежные призы  
• Видео- и аудиозапись с финала конкурса  
• Памятные призы и подарки от Фонда Андрея Петрова и партнёров конкурса 

Вступительный взнос для участия в Конкурсе не предусмотрен.

Более подробная информация
об условиях конкурса:
Положение о конкурсе 2020

Приветствия конкурсу
Юрий
ТЕМИРКАНОВ
Народный артист России, художественный руководитель
Санкт-Петербургской академической филармонии им. Д. Д. Шостаковича

Я являюсь членом Попечительского совета Фонда Андрея Петрова с момента его основания. С уверенностью могу сказать, что многие годы Фонд занимается не только тем, что пропагандирует музыку самого Андрея Петрова, создаёт архив, работает над изданием собрания сочинений композитора, что несомненно очень важно, но и проводит очень значимый для культурной жизни России конкурс композиторов. Будучи членом жюри несколько лет назад, я имел возможность не только осознать, как много авторов присылают свои сочинения на конкурс, какой широкий диапазон городов и стран участников, но и понять, каким нужным делом занимается Фонд Андрея Петрова.

Гия
КАНЧЕЛИ
Народный артист России,
композитор,
(1935-2019)

В наше непростое время учреждение масштабного конкурса композиторов считаю явлением исключительным. Не менее значительным явлением я считаю то, что конкурс связан с именем Андрея Петрова, личности во всех своих проявлениях уникальной. Я счастлив, что мой друг, при жизни являясь сеятелем добра, продолжает приносить радость многочисленным участникам конкурса. Низкий поклон всем, кто учредил и поддерживает жизнеспособность этого значитель- ного явления.

Эльдар
РЯЗАНОВ
Народный артист России,
кинорежиссёр,
(1927 - 2015)

Мне в жизни повезло около 40 лет дружить и творчески сотрудничать с интереснейшим, интеллигентным, добрым человеком и очень талантливым композитором Андреем Петровым. Ему были подвластны все жанры – опера, балет, симфоническая музыка. Но, конечно же, большинству слушателей он знаком как выдающийся кинокомпозитор. Музыка Петрова в фильме – такая же неотъемлемая его составляющая, как игра Иннокентия Смоктуновского в «Берегись автомобиля», Алисы Фрейндлих в «Служебном романе», Лии Ахеджаковой в «Гараже» и т. д. Многие мелодии стали визитными карточками не только любимых фильмов, но и самого композитора. Нам очень легко и хорошо работалось. Мы вместе сделали 14 фильмов.

Геннадий
ГЛАДКОВ
Народный артист России,
композитор

Некогда цветущий сад российской музыкальной культуры последнее время немного подувял. Поэтому любая поддержка и стимулирование творчества в области культуры и искусства подобны благостному дождю. Всероссийский открытый конкурс композиторов имени Андрея Петрова считаю делом жизненной необходимости, делом большой государственной важности. Поэтому оргкомитету конкурса я выражаю огромную благодарность. Продолжа- йте так дальше — это нужно, это радостно.

Сергей
СКРИПКА
Народный артист России,
дирижёр

Вся моя творческая жизнь была связана с Андреем Павловичем Петровым, начиная с нашей первой картины на «Мосфильме». Музыка этого выдающегося композитора навсегда останется драгоценным образцом истинного искусства, тем маяком, что светит уже долгие годы всем нам. Кто-то, как я, рос вместе с мелодиями Андрея Павловича, так сказать, в режиме реального времени, кто-то узнаёт его творчество только сейчас. Но главное – не угасает память и не стареет его музыка. И счастье, что есть возможность для композиторов принять участие в соревновании, где оценивают, прежде всего, хороший вкус, искреннее служение искусству и продолжение замечательных традиций, заложенных Андреем Павловичем Петровым.

Александр
ЗАЦЕПИН
Народный артист России,
композитор

Конкурсы для композиторов – явление не частое, но очень важное. Порой авторам просто некуда податься со своим сочинением, нет возможности услышать свою песню в концертном зале в исполнении профессиональных солистов и музыкантов. Конкурс, носящий имя замечательного композитора Андрея Петрова, даёт участникам этот шанс, вдохновляя на создание новых сочинений! Я давно слышал об этом профессиональном конкурсе, о достойном и беспристрастном жюри, о широчайшей географии участников, но впервые оказался в составе членов жюри, чему очень рад! Надеюсь на встречу с яркими талантливыми песнями и романсами и желаю всем участникам успеха!

Александр
РАСКАТОВ
композитор

Дорогие друзья, дорогие члены жюри, коллеги, молодые композиторы! 

Теперь, как никогда, музыка будет играть особую роль — роль обращения к человеку. Композиторы просто призваны вернуть музыке ту высокую роль, которая всегда ей была присуща. Я совсем не «популист», и всегда — за новое, при условии, если цель этого нового — затронуть слушателя, достучаться до него.  

Врач призван лечить недуги телесные; 
Музыка — лечит душу, и мы будем это помнить!  
Успеха вам, дорогие младшие коллеги!  

Александр
КНАЙФЕЛЬ
Заслуженный деятель искусств России, композитор

Звезда Андрея Петрова
лучится Петербургом –
и как дивно, что в юных –
чудотворная белизна ночей 
неистощимо пламенеет 
новой жизнью. 

Члены жюри 2009-2019
Гия
КАНЧЕЛИ
Композитор, Народный артист СССР
Александр
ЗАЦЕПИН
Композитор, Народный артист России
Геннадий
ГЛАДКОВ
Композитор, Народный артист России
Евгений
ДОГА
Композитор, Народный артист СССР
Алексей
РЫБНИКОВ
Композитор, Народный артист России
Тамара
ГВЕРДЦИТЕЛИ
Певица, актриса, композитор, Народная артистка России
Франгиз
АЛИЗАДЕ
Композитор, Народная артистка Республики Азербайджан (Азербайджан)
Сергей
СКРИПКА
Дирижёр, Народный артист России
Мирослав
СКОРИК
Композитор, Народный артист Украины (Украина)
Вадим
БИБЕРГАН
Композитор, Народный артист России
Дмитрий
ЯНОВ-ЯНОВСКИЙ
Композитор (Узбекистан)
Леонид
ДЕСЯТНИКОВ
Композитор, Заслуженный деятель искусств России
Сергей
БАНЕВИЧ
Композитор, Заслуженный деятель искусств России
Марина
ЛАНДА
Композитор, теле-радио ведущая
Александр
КНАЙФЕЛЬ
Композитор, Заслуженный деятель искусств России
Максим
ЛЕОНИДОВ
Композитор, певец, актёр
Владимир
ТАРНОПОЛЬСКИЙ
Композитор, профессор Московской консерватории
Виктор
РАКОВ
Актёр, Народный артист России
Андрей
СИГЛЕ
Композитор, продюсер, Заслуженный деятель искусств России
Андрей
АЛЕКСЕЕВ
Дирижёр, Заслуженный артист России
Александр
РАДВИЛОВИЧ
Композитор, Заслуженный деятель искусств России, профессор Санкт-Петербургской консерватории
Аркадий
ШТЕЙНЛУХТ
Заслуженный артист России, дирижёр
Станислав
ВАЖОВ
Композитор, Лауреат Национальной театральной премии «Золотая маска»
Олег
ГРАБКО
Музыкальный продюсер
Константин
УЧИТЕЛЬ
Доктор искусствоведения, профессор РГИСИ
Фёдор
ЛЕДНЁВ
Дирижёр
Настасья
ХРУЩЁВА
Композитор, кандидат искусствоведения
Татьяна
КАЛИНИНА
Поэт
Анатолий
КОРОЛЁВ
Композитор, Заслуженный деятель искусств России, профессор Санкт-Петербургской консерватории
Александр
ПОПОВ
Композитор
Валерий
ПЛАТОНОВ
Дирижёр, Заслуженный деятель искусств России, лауреат Национальной театральной премии «Золотая Маска»
Павел
КАРМАНОВ
Композитор
Игорь
ЕГИКОВ
Композитор
Манана
ГОГИТИДЗЕ
Певица, актриса, дважды лауреат Национальной театральной премии «Золотая Маска»
Александр
БОГАЧЁВ
Пианист, аранжировщик
Игорь
ДРУХ
Композитор
Андрей
ЛЕДЕНЁВ
Композитор